Miscellaneous Rumbles

David Letterman’s Last Night

Late Night with David Letterman debuted when I graduated from high school and headed off to college. In a pre-cable era, it was usually the last show on TV before signoff. I remember watching it in Newark airport when my flight to Providence was delayed until the morning. My tiny black and white TV in my dorm room allowed me to see Dave before sleep. My friends and I eagerly discussed each show the following day.

I remember the first show with Bill Murray dancing to Olivia Newton-John's Physical. I even watched his day time talk show occasionally.

As I aged, so did he. He became less grumpy, less edgy, but so did I. After the move to CBS, I watched less. (Too damn late, I needed to get up early for work.) We each had a single son.

His comedy heavily informed my sense of humor, along with Monty Python and the original SNL.

Coincidentally I'm flying out tomorrow for my 30th college reunion. I'm sure my friends and I will swap Dave stories over the weekend.

This summer my wife and I are camping near his loyal sidekick Paul Shaffer's hometown of Thunder Bay, Ontario.

Thanks Dave, for 33+ years of great work. My life would not be the same without you.

I guess I'll have to stay up past my bed time tonight. Dave is the best.