Your Tunes

19th Century Surf” with Erik Satie

My band the Vibrojets has been recording. Here's a link to a tune I did a quickie mastering job on just to get it out there: Gymnopédies 1

Please note, the vibes are real! The vibes player's name is Tommy Mattioli. We are co-leaders of a four-piece band.

That, my friend is a real delight.

Wonderful playing throughout (super discipline in the 16th note hi-hats/vibraphone tremolo strikes starting at 0.46), a deliciously chirpy reworking of a sombre piece that still has a big heart, intact.

Your Lounge concept has extra-plump cushions, ultra-stylish louche guests and super-chilled Cinzano. What a party.

Hahaha - genius arrangement!

Liked it a lot. A lot of non-classical music fans learned about Eric Satie from the Blood Sweat and Tears second album.

The guitar track, evasive and Fender Rhodes-ish as it is, was played on a Duo-Jet, just so you know. We did fifteen tracks, and I used the Jet, a 1960 Annie, a Tele, and a 1959 Jazzmaster.

Very clever use of the guitar, seadevil. It isn't what I would consider surf, either in construction or tone, but I very much enjoyed that nonetheless.

Yeah, it's not really surf at all. Genre music can get tiresome, and this is an effort to transcend that. The vibes offer a lot of opportunites to mix and match styles, or disregard them completely.

We learned it "straight" - slow and semi-acoustic - for a wedding. This version started as a goof, but it clicked right away.

Great! I like that a lot :)

Delightful. I'd buy a whole record of cuts in this style.

I will buy that album when it’s available. Really up my alley. Nice job!

I hope this will be issued on vinyl. It's way cool!