The Woodshed

How do you guys improvise based off the chord and not the key

I’m a guitarist who has been playing for quite a while but only has fundamental music theory. From what I gather (and I could be wrong about this), when really good players solo, they don’t just figure out the key of a song and play in that mode, they will pick their notes on a chord by chord basis (whilst keeping the key in mind). So maybe the key is C, but a G will come up and they think an F# would go well over it so they throw that in there. How do you guys decide if that F# will be a flop or actually sound good? And if you are playing over a progression without explicitly being told the chords, is there a way to decipher that easily while playing over the progression? When I improvise, I try to throw in notes outside the key but unless it’s a jazz track it does not seem to be worth it most of the time as the notes rarely come out better than if I had just stuck to the scale of the key.

I don't think there's a 'right' way. I have no formal music theory, but playing along with records and trial and error was how I learned to play, and still forms my approach. Incremental improvements over many years (the really good players don't take that long, but I'm not one of those) have given me a repertoire of approaches which are second nature (that is, I couldn't satisfactorily explain them). I've been trying to learn more jazz-type 'inside' chords lately, as that's not where I started (wish I had) and that is interesting because I can now throw away another load of 'rules' I had limited myself with. I think you've got to find the answer on the fretboard, but any other learning will help. But eventually you have to trust your ears.

Although impressive in the sense of skill and dexterity, 'improvisation' which is built to a formula quickly becomes tedious to my ears.

"Improvising off the chord".... I think you are talking about the CAGED system? Other people have other names for it too....