Vintage Gretsch Guitars

vintage parts… C’mon man!

I understand that there is a market for vintage parts. I am not a proponent of stripping guitars to satisfy that market. That's not what this rant is about. My issue is an auction such as this, with Bevete-level pricing for a part that's impossible to authenticate. Asking $700 for a pick guard bracket... C'mon man!

https://www.ebay.com/itm/Vi...

$95 for three screws, $450 for a hang tag.

This guy's delusional.

I think that is bevete aka the Seattle dude. I don't think he's an Official Parts Weasel, at least by what I see listed.

Tedious Big Picture Analysis: As vintage guitar heads age out of the scene -there are just fewer people behind that age group, fewer are guitar heads, and of what there is --most don't give a damn about 1950s anything. They're more into the relationship of current technologies and musical instruments. That whole 'death of the electric guitar' thing, as in that WaPo article is silly speculation, but still the prices that were pretty standard 10-15 years ago by and large are not going to hold up.

Was there a period in which Gretsch used brackets with a completely rounded end?
I only know the brackets like this one: less rounded.

Just to be clear: This is the one they are selling. It has a rounded end.

I sympathize. I found out how it can be by looking for gold Rickenbacker truss rod covers. John Hall controls those like DeBeers does diamonds so them ain't cheap when you actually can find one, yessir.

Here's a quote from the description in the auction:

"We have decades of wires chase Gretsch sales of real vintage items accurately described"

What the heck does that even mean?

INSANE!!!! Should be criminal.....

Without part weasels, many of us would have unfinished projects.

Without part weasels, many of us would have unfinished projects.

– crowbone