Vintage Gretsch Guitars

Vintage Gretsch with no serial number

Hi everyone, I am new to the Gretsch Pages, having just acquired what I think is a 1966 Country Gentleman in fantastic condition. The only odd thing is that there is no serial number--not on the name plate of the headstock, not on the top edge or back of the headstock, not under the pick guard, and not inside the body. I have heard from Walter Carter and seen in other posts that this is not unheard of. I do not think the guitar has been refinished recently as everything glows uniform (and very strong) green under blacklight, and color/feel seems original. I think the body was re-bound, as the binding is perfect and black light does show a slight dark "rim" on the top and back following the binding. Anyway, given the Supertron I believe this would be post '64; given the double mutes I believe pre-'67; and given the signature and "GENTLEMEN" typo on the pickguard I think '66 or /67. So I'm going with mid to late '66 but would be happy to hear anyone's opinion. It is a fantastic player and I am thrilled to have picked it up.

More pics for you:

Beautiful guitar. I have no real advice to give other than to point out that black light will only show a partial refin. If the whole guitar was refinished it’ll look just like one that hasn’t been touched when looked at under black light.

Oh, and welcome - nice to have you onboard.

Thanks, Deke! Certainly if a refinish was done a while back, yes, I totally take your point. In comparing nitro finished guitars I own (including those that are 2 years old, 5 years old, 10 years old, then 40 and 50 or more), I generally see the glow become stronger and more uniform with time. I guess I just took it that the serial number is unlikely to be missing from the headstock due to some kind of headstock repair or local refinish, but you never know.

Pot codes? Anything stamped on the top edge of the headstock?

Have you looked in the neck pickup cavity?

– Tartan Phantom