Vintage Gretsch Guitars

Picked up a Country Gent, have a few pics and questions

Hello, This is my first time here. Great site.

I took a chance on a Country Gent from GC Hollywood labeled as a 1967 but looked like maybe a 1964 model. Just got her home and did an initial inspection.

Perfect binding all around. I measure 5/64 at the 12the fret with bridge set almost flush. Unfortunately, no headstock plate (though I found a 1965 one online).

I am thinking this is a 1964:

Stair step tuners I believe to be 1963-64 feature. Supertron and Filtertron. Pots are 13764XX so, I think CTS 1964, rest is covered by solder. No serial on back of headstock.. Double mutes --though mute system is out. Bridge is not original and pinned

A few questions: Some of the rear screws for the plastic plate are missing. Also need escutcheon pins for the headplate I will add. Any specs or source for these? The back pad seems original but some gold wore off the piping and it is bright green underneath. Is this correct?

Any comments or feedback welcomed.

Welcome aboard, Beanbake! That's a great git you got there. They'll be some smart folks along shortly to answer your questions.

Can you post a close up picture of the back of the headstock?

It does look like a '64 model year, at least to me. Where are the pots?!

I agree it's a '64 (or maybe '65), definitely not a '67. I'm curious about the tuners, whether they're original stairstep Imperials or modern ones (lots of '64-'65 Gents have had them added by George fans). I don't think I've ever spotted an original example of a '64 with stairstep Imperials and a neck SuperTron. The '65 catalog is the only time I've seen that combination.

Welcome to our addiction. She's Yummy! Congrats!

Here is a pic of the back of the headstock.

and here is one of the pots (they were removed when I took the first pic)

I'm tempted to de-solder the pot to see the week code....