Vintage Gretsch Guitars

Is binding replacement a DIY project?

I have a late 60s Country Gent and the binding is trashed meaning mostly gone. It’s so bad along the neck that it’s hard to play. I’ve never done binding before.

I’m a pretty handy guy. Actually I’ve remodeled both of my bathrooms and my kitchen by myself. I like projects and am good with details.

But I don’t want to ruin this guitar. How hard is binding replacement? Can somebody do a decent job on their first try? Also, as I side question, does binding replacement ruin the value of an old Gretsch like this?

If you're guitar is a "player" and you're not trying to retain any vintage collector value... I'd say go for it. Otherwise, go to a pro... assuming you can find one that wants the job.

From what I've seen over the years it's more a "DIE" project than "DIY". It's those little things like paint touch up, getting those red fret marker dots right, etc.

But I would want to encourage you not discourage. If you do go ahead, hopefully you will keep a diary of it here.

Go buy a twenty dollar beater and practice on that first. You will learn a boatload, including how much is just the right amount of solvent/glue to use without starving or over saturating the joint. Use quality heavy duty 3m tape that is fresh and has good stretch potential.

I'm with Opie. It sounds like you're pretty handy and will do a half-decent job, but better to practice on a beater and get the mistakes out of the way before attempting in on the Gent.

What they said AND expect more difficulty if doing layers.

I just re-read my post. I didn’t mean to come across as demeaning. “Half decent job” was just a turn of phrase, I’m sure you’ll do great, but I still advise to practice on a beater first

If you tackle this and it proves successful, you might consider making it a side hustle, as there are (and will be) a number of Gretsch owners who will need this service!