Vintage Gretsch Guitars

Interested in this ‘73 Gretsch Chet Atkins Nashville on Reverb, but…

I've heard people say bad things about Baldwin era Gretsch. I've heard about binding rot. The truth is, I have no experience with vintage Gretsch, only modern ones. I thought y'all might be able to offer informed opinions. Are there any gotcha's I should be aware of with Gretsch Nashville models of the era? Anything I should be aware of? I'd appreciate any opinions y'all can offer.

https://reverb.com/item/271...

First, I'd like to know the S/N to confirm the year, but it's definitely post-'71 as evidenced by the Baldwin changes brought in in early '72. Once those changes were implemented, the binding rot that was quite prevalent beginning around '66, seems to have almost completely gone away; not entirely, but in most cases and this guitar seems free of it. What you've heard of a negative nature has been proven to be BS for quite awhile now, early binding rot notwithstanding.

There's actually two separate Baldwin eras. The first is from when they bought the company and maintained the same features through to early '71 when they changed things. The main changes consisted of a different shape pickguard, the trussrod switched to a Burns Box and the pickup covers (only the covers) switched to blackface. Later on the resistance changed as well.

Around here, these second gen Baldwin guitars are well thought of and amongst those of us who own one - mine's a '72 Super Chet & a '76 Super Axe - highly regarded.

Aside from the replaced tuners, not a big deal for these guitars, this guitar looks to be in nice shape and a pretty good price.