Vintage Gretsch Guitars

1962 Gretsch 6120 Double Cutaway non conforming to specs inquiry

My first post here...I have no experience with vintage Gretsch electrics. An interesting 6120 Chet Atkins has been brought to my attention requiring binding replacement. The guitar has an interior 10 Broadway label, serial no. 484XX, double cutaway, open (not painted on) bound F holes, original orange finish surface, deteriorated cream colored binding top and back, horse shoe headstock inlay, 2-1/4" body thickness, no holes in back from a prior access pad or cover, thumb print fret board inlays, and gold plated hardware with "stair step" buttoned Grover Imperial tuners with removable covers. I am unable to locate this variation of the 6120 in my reference books or on line... To the vintage Gretsch community: Is this an early variation of this model? Is there a source for proper replica binding for this model? Thanks in advance for the help. Sam Rawlins, Atlanta, GA

Probably a custom order. Gretsch did do custom jobs so it would not be too unusual for such a version to exist. There has been at least one single-cutaway White Falcon from the 5xxxx batch spotted recently as well as a mid-sixties single cut, real f-hole 6120; at least one double-cutaway Country Gentleman with humpblock (pre-'58) markers; one-pickup Country Clubs, custom colors etc. A customer probably wanted real f-holes and no mute lever, so this would've been easier to make. Pictures would be helpful.