Vince Ray's Kustom Korner

Metal fabrication guitar body

So since I graduated I’ve been looking for work but nothing has come up yet. However just because I’m unemployed doesn’t mean I’m going to sit on my ass all day ... recently I’ve decided to invest in a skill/ craft that I’ve always wanted to learn- compound curves in sheet metal. It’s harder than it sounds but easier than you might think.

The plan for this project is to make adouble cut Les Paul body with the arched top. I don’t have fancy tools such as an English wheel (lord knows I’d love to have one) so I’m using hammers and dollys plus some homemade tools like a slapper file. So far I’m happy with the results even tho my wrist is sore!

The first picture is how I started stretching the center by using a crowned mallet and hitting the metal against something soft, in my case I use my drum stool. It’s supposed to look like you messed it up at first but then you work it into shape

This is after some hours of hammering on a dolly. I bought a weldable endcap and polished it to use as a dolly

I should mention that this is not my first attempt!

Eventually this is what I created... a steel compound curved archtop. There are some tooling marks that I couldn’t planish but I’m satisfied so far

Here is the neck pocket

I’ve made the back but that’s going to be left flat. I need to make the sides and weld it all up

Impressive. I have always been fascinated with fabrication. Working the metal until you see your vision brought to life. Please post more pics of the progress. I'm inspired.

Looking forward to more progress pics.

Nicely done! Sounds like you need a shot bag, not a drum stool! I've done some metal work, but what you're doing is closer to art!