Miscellaneous Rumbles

Tired

I have thought long and heard about this whether to put this on here. It’s saddening officers have lost their lives in the US. When the reality is the vast vast majority are good decent people. Is it a tragedy GF died absolutely but the world shouldn’t burn for it. If this post offends thine eye then pluck it out and bounce me from this site.

I have been a police Officer for 23 years. The vast majority of that time working in uniform in some form of frontline policing. None of the below is unique to me. All officers have there own stories and memories.

Number of people I have killed = zero

Number of lives saved (directly) = One I have the Royal Humane Society Award to prove it. A drunk homeless woman that had stopped breathing. I did CPR until better help took over.

Number of lives saved (indirectly) = impossible to count every time I arrested someone for violence, drugs, domestic violence etc. Stopped someone bleeding to death before better help got there. Found the suicidal missing person before they killed themselves (a few of them.) sectioned people who were so mentally unwell as they were a risk to themselves (a lot)

Number of people I have watched die = one. A road traffic accident I watched him take his last breath, I then tried to save him. This is indelibly etched in my memory. Every now and then I comes to the surface.

Number of burning houses entered = one. A genuinely scary place. How fire fighters go into a smoke filled house and don’t want to run out screaming I will never know. If there are firefighters reading this - you are a steely eyed rocket man. Kudos to them.

Number of suicides attended = six. All of them by hanging. Sometimes it’s a struggle now dealing with a hanging.