Miscellaneous Rumbles

My Kenya Trip

A while back, someone asked me about my trip to Kenya back in 2007. I'll share a few of my own pics here. I don't want to bore you, so I won't go on and on with it. You'll be able to tell right off that I'm not a professional photographer.

The Kenyans are lovely people. I enjoyed my brief visit with them so very much.

Here we go.

My dear friend, Herbert Davis, who is a preacher man, and I were out on a walkabout one morning and ran into these 2 gentlemen, and had a wonderful conversation, even though it was difficult at times because of the language barrier.

I will never forget this man and his family. Charles Mwisi. Every morning he would greet me with "there is my good friend."

Charles took me on a little walk, which was about 200, maybe 300 meters. Actually it turned out to be about 2 miles - one way. It was just Charles and I when we started, but as we walked back through the bush we attracted more participants. Remember, a white man is something very unusual for the Kenyans to see in person.

Forgive me. I don't know how to add more than one photo to a post. This is actually the portrait of Charles Mwisi and his family.

Kenya is on the northern part of the Serengeti. Such a beautiful place. Seemingly millions of acres with innumerable Kichwa trees.

Future King(s) of the Jungle.

EDIT to say that you haven't lived until you hear a Male lion roar late at night (for real).

This was one of the most fascinating scenes for me. The fastest animal on earth. She was just taking her good old easy time trying to choose what would be for supper.

EDIT: There were hundreds of a wide variety of animals within about a half mile range of her when I snapped this shot. I can assure you, every eye was on her, and not a one moved a muscle until they could see what her intentions were.

Thanks Richard for posting these. Fantastic trip and photos. Not boring in the least. You are our good friend also.