Miscellaneous Rumbles

It’s Got to be Good to Make Me Sit That Long!

1. What's the longest you've ever sat in a movie theater?

2. Have you ever finished a movie, then snuck/sneaked into another movie without paying?

Back in the 90s I sat through a triple feature of the original 3 Star Wars movies. Funny thing, I don't believe I saw any of them when they first came out. I was too much into Kiss/guitars and sports to be a Sci-Fi nerd.

Also, I can't remember ever sneaking into a second movie.

...------

Addendum: The stupid Ewoks could have easily made me walk out of "Return of the Jedi," but I made it through. They had to sell merchandise, cute dolls didn't they.

...------

My friends and I sat thru four showings of "Woodstock" nonstop. Don't ask.

As I worked as a projectionist, I sat thru a lot of movies, most of which I wouldn't have seen unless I was paid to run them. "Shoah" was 15 hours of death camp stories shown over two days. It was one of the grimmest things I've ever had to do.

1. I think "Titanic" would be the longest movie I ever saw in the theater. Being a smash hit with a 3:15 running time, I'd be that's a lot of people's answer.

2. I have. That's how I saw the first "Austin Powers." And I'd imagine I did it a couple other times in my younger days, but that's the only one I specifically recall.

"Gandhi" shouldn't have been as boring as watching paint dry but it was to me. "Close Encounters of The Third Kind" was so spellbinding at the time that the whole audience, including me, applauded at the end and sat through the entire credits before anybody got up and even started to leave the theatre. Before that, "2001: A Space Odyssey" was so long that it had an intermission in the middle, but I was gripped with interest and intrigue from beginning to end. A masterpiece!

My wife and I watched Avatar in 3D, walked out of the theatre, looked at each other without a word, got back in line, and watched it again.