Miscellaneous Rumbles

Is There Such A Thing As Too Much Gear?

Anyone here ever feel that they have overdone things regarding too much guitar gear?

I just came across my Electro-Harmonix Sitar pedal. A few years ago I had to, had to, just had to buy that thing. I've used it maybe a total of twenty-five minutes. I also have seven top amps and 17 professional level guitars. I am not a working musician. Hell, I can't even play barre chords, yet I have 17 guitars.

Anyone here feel your gear may be beyond your abilities or beyond your time to even utilize the stuff...or, heaven forbid, feel you wasted money on gear?

This was supposed to turn me into Ravi Shankar:

I fear my guitar playing days are numbered due to advancing arthritis in my left hand fingers. As I am lucky enough to afford gear I have been buying pretty much anything I like while I still can play. I do occasionally feel a bit guilty having all this equipment but I worked hard for it. I would put my playing skills at intermediate, playing primarily for my own enjoyment. Some days are better than others, my arthritis prevents me from playing barre chords some days so I have to use "little chords" (i.e. 3 notes). I frequent the local jam scene and see l many talented players playing inferior equipment, this makes me feel a bit selfish for what I have. Besides playing them I get great enjoyment just looking at them. To me they are like pieces of art.

I look on "too much gear" as the threshold beyond which I cannot maintain everything properly. I'm really close to that threshold, too.

The "stuff I never use" category seems to me to be merely misfires in desire. It's a different flavor of indulgence.

Paul/FF909

Anyone here ever feel that they have overdone things regarding too much guitar gear?