Miscellaneous Rumbles

Gretsch in TX

Hey everyone, this is my first time initiating a thread, I just got sent down to San Marcos/New Braunfels TX for the next 2 months :| Any cool guitar/gretsch stuff down here?

Signed, A long way from home

Well, I never heard of anything interesting happening in Sam Marcos, but San Antonio has just about everything.

John:

Lotsa great music in Austin (Momo's, Antone's, Saxon Pub and many, many others), Gruene (Gruene Hall) (right near NB) and even in San Antonio (Floores Country Store, Sam's Burger Joint) or head on up to Luckenbach (only about an hour from you).

Check out Redbone Guitar on McCullogh in San Antonio. They have posted here in the past and held a in store promom with Joe Carducci about 3 years ago.

They are a small independent boutique guitar shop. Probably about 30 minutes down I35.

There is a guitar shop in NB, but I can't remember the name and a GC and Sam Ash (which is surprisingly good) in San Antonio. Also some shops in Austin, but I have not visited any. Big Jim in Austin may chime in here and give some thoughts as well.

Finally, you could go to Fuller's Vintage Guitars in Houston, but that is like a three hour drive.

I've played Sam's Burger Joint. Tasty burgers there. You could get fat playing that place. Lots of live music action in that area. If you go to Hogwild Records, Tapes and CDs you will be able to find what bands are playing where in SA.

In Austin Liberty Lunch is a great place, and of course you have 6th Street, which has clubs playing every style of music every weekend. The Austin Opera House has a lot of stuff going on, too. Played that place a few times.

I just got the Jam Base app (available for Android and Iphone). Great app that lets you find live music based on Zip Code, City, State, etc... Also let's you track bands and their appearances.

My new favorite app.