Miscellaneous Rumbles

From guitar to Mandolin

Anyone pick up mandolin after playing guitar for years? I have a new love for Celtic music and was considering a mandolin. Seems like it would be a relatively easy transition, any thoughts?

Very tight strings. Hard on your fingertips.

K

I've thought about it, but, this guy squelched my idea of even trying it. Lol

Wow!

Makes me want a mando now!

K

It felt very natural. A lot of chords can be played with just two fingers. It's tuned "backwards," so figuring out lead lines isn't too difficult. You'll be playing songs in no time. The action at the nut seemed to be more crucial on the mandolin than guitar for me. I lowered the slots and it played considerably easier.

I've been playing (if you could call it that) guitar since 1985, and picked up mandolin in 1993. Mandolin has been my personal favorite instrument ever since, and I consider myself much more proficient on mando than on guitar.

If you are serious about this, The transition is not difficult provided that you follow a few guidelines...

1. Do NOT attempt to approach mandolin as if it were tuned like an upside down bass. I know the temptation is there, but while the tuning (GDAE) is indeed the inverse of a Bass, you need to break out of the common myth that you can apply everything you know about guitar over to mandolin. Yes, you do have a head start as a guitarist, but the advantages mainly lie in basic fretted instrument proficiency.. e.g. left hand basic techniques-- fretting, hammers and pulls, and finger dexterity. Right hand technique can also be an advantage if you have decent flatpicking experience. However, you will quickly find that you will need to rethink chord voicings... It just ain't the same ballgame as guitar in that respect. In other words, don't try to make your mandolin style guitar-centric... Or it will sound more like a guitar played in Nashville high-tuning than a legit mandolin.