Miscellaneous Rumbles

At a crossroads again (seeking advice, I think)…

I thought I'd put this up here, as you guys have proven to be one of the more stable, level-headed and experienced groups of people I know (and on an individual basis, the few GDPers I 've met have always proved outstanding).

So here is the situ: I'm 52 and I run a risk consulting/detective agency in Poland (my own). It's been up and running for three years. Prior to that, I ran the operations of another agency and was a key partner, but new partners came in and it wasn't for me. Prior to that I worked at an app company for two years, and prior to that I was an editor at a major news wire and investigative journalist (mostly focusing on corruption, mafia cases, serious crime, etc.)

Anyway, I have extensive management experience, legal knowledge, consulting experience and serious conflict resolution experience (as in the other side has at times been rather dangerous crooks).

So with that intro out of the way, here we go:

1) I like the job, am proud of the company and what I've done, but I'm tired of the threats (both legal and not), but I am also a bit sick of working 60 hours a week and never, ever (and I mean ever) getting time off. Also, the admin is out of control (thanks in part to US tax laws getting worse for expats seemingly every year).

2) Companies are pressing down on rates to the point that it's insane. They seriously do not want to know the truth--funds that have millions to invest blanch at a few thousand euros and ask for just a quick press review. But honestly, journalism was gutted years ago--a quick press review is not going to tell you much of anything. But hey--it's not their money.

3) Other clients more and more want info that is plainly illegal. Criminal records, medical records, hotel stays, you name it. Obv, as a detective, we are not paid to be saints, but (especially US companies) think that we are paid to steal.