Miscellaneous Rumbles

Any of You Bring Your Guitar To Work and Play?

Just curious about this because I work 11:00 PM to 7:30 AM at a hospital in Radiology. I'm a Radiology Tech. We have no ER here and no Outpatients come in at night, so I do X-Rays on Inpatients and it's not a lot at night, so if I wanted I could probably play guitar here. In fact, a co-worker who just left us had worked a different shift than mine and we would overlap at times, brought his friend's guitar here to work. He had a lot of downtime after a certain time on weekends. He was learning guitar on a Yamaha acoustic.

I could probably do the same. Although I'm pretty tired here at night I could use this time to learn more about guitar. I've been playing on and off since I was 14 and now I'm 51 but I'm no pro, I have a lot more to learn. But the problem is fatigue at night and once in awhile some nurse or something may come by to ask me something. I could do it, the other guy did but I don't know if I'm going to.

Just wondering who here does bring a guitar to work? I know if you are a pro musician then the studio and stage is your office and playing is your job, but for those of you who don't play for a living do you bring your acoustic or even electric unplugged at work?

By the way, I used to work with Rosey Grier. He used to bring his guitar to work. We worked at a non-profit. I was in IT and he did, well not sure. He got paid like anyone else but it was a charity. He showed me a few things on guitar. He was friends with Bobby Womack, who also taught him some things on guitar. Rosey is genuinely a nice guy and I wish I kept in touch with him. So he closed his door and played his acoustic.