Vintage Gretsch Guitars

cool vintage Gretsch Ebay score!

Not the usual "new guitar day" post, but I thought ya'll might find this interesting. As a printer by trade I find it uber-cool!

This is a letterpress cut (plate) used in the mid-to-late 30s. Easily dated by the fact that the guitar depicted is the rare and short lived American Orchestra model 250.

It would be really cool to stumble across the ad that actually used this plate. I've compared it to several I've got archived from the period, but no dice.

Super cool. Did you ever conclusively determine what the hinged brass thing was?

That is very cool! Nice find!

Super cool. Did you ever conclusively determine what the hinged brass thing was?

– jqrm (Ryan M)

Nope... lots of guesses, but never got a definitive "It's a...".

Here's one of the few ads that feature the model 250. It's from the October 1936 issue of Metronome magazine.

Very nice! What size is it and when are you going to make some proofs with it? Is it mounted on wood? I am a printmaker and want to ink that up!

Very nice! What size is it and when are you going to make some proofs with it? Is it mounted on wood? I am a printmaker and want to ink that up!

– lx

I'm with you brother! I have a little hand-op letter press but the rollers are all dried up. So I'll have pull some proofs another way. The cut is quite heavy with the plate being 1/8 of copper plated lead on a 3/4" block of wood. The dimensions are about 2" x 2.5".

How can I help to make it happen? Maybe get some printed up on some thick 100% rag and sold off to GDP members as a fundraiser for Bax? I know there are many here would really go for that!

How can I help to make it happen? Maybe get some printed up on some thick 100% rag and sold off to GDP members as a fundraiser for Bax? I know there are many here would really go for that!

– lx

I have a local option I'll check into... but then I might be calling on you. Stay tuned...