Other Players

are lefty players different - -

Even tho I am left handed, I play right handed because at an early age I was able to adapt.

But real lefties -- I keep wondering if there is just something different about how they play... thinking of well known lefties...

Albert King -- how he bent notes

Hendrix -- very hard to copy although many have tried -- his chording and lead playing also off center/unconventional somehow, and I thought this the first time I heard him over 50 years ago.

McCartney, even - Most all the more unusual, goofy, off the wall Beatle guitar solos -- he did them.

Others can analyze more recent lefties like Easton, etc.

I guess this has been discussed before tho

Playing lefty just isn’t right.

I never noticed a difference. May be so with some of those lefties who play righty. As a drummer myself, I noted that Ringo, a lefty playing a right handed set, suggesting that this added to the quirkiness of his fills.

When a lefty learns on a right handed guitar, I assume there is something unusual to the dominant hand doing the fretting and the non-dominant hand in charge of rhythm and note placement.

Just to confuse things Hendrix wrote right handed.

Yes we are different. Some new studies are showing genetic differences that lead to different brain structure that’s lends itself to an increase in verbal skills in left handed folks.

.... but I’ve walked around my whole life with this brain and no other so I’m not sure how mine differs from yours?

Try setting up a lefty or changing out pots or strings, its not just backwards it's unusual.

Albert King may have held the guitar lefty but it was strung righty.

Albert King may have held the guitar lefty but it was strung righty.

– Charlie Vegas

I think Elizabeth Cotten also did this.