Pickups

Filtertron’s coils wiring

Hello everybody, I'm new to this super forum. I need help because when I was young (and stupid) I modified the wiring of my country gentlemen (made in 1976) in order to split the two side of the filtertron and have the possibility of connecting them parallel or serial with a switch. Now that I'm old (and reasonable) I'd like to re-wire my gretsch like "original" The problem is that I dont remember how these filtertron were wired. So I join a pic of one of the filtertron : You see a black and a red wire coming out of each coil. So I've seen that the two coils must be wired in parallel (I suppose ?!) But how must I connect them : red with red and black with black or reds with blacks and which wire must go to the ground. Thanks a lot for your infos because before doing anything wrong, I wanna be sure !

Hang tight. We've got some (smarter than me) people here that will likely have an answer for you.

You may want to try TVJones' website (link to your right) which should have a schematic of how the wiring goes.

They're wired in series. You want to end up with a black and red from each pickup . Use the outer two (black and red) for your pickup wires to connect to the wiring harness and connect the inner two black and red wires to each other, put some shrink wrap on them and tuck them between the coils. Done!

If you have it wired for coil splitting then with the coils not split it should just sound stock.

Filtertrons individual coils are a little weak and tend to be pretty thin and quiet by themselves

Toxophilite: Sorry but I dont understand well your explanation (maybe it's due to the fact that English is not my mother language )

Hello John Lindsey, thanks for the pic. So if I see well, the coils are connected in serial. But the problem is that a lot of people on the net say that for a country gentlemen made in 1978, the coils were connected in in parallel ??!! So who is right ?