Pickups

Broadtron Pickup Covers

Hi all, I am rather new to modding guitars and I'm currently doing some modifications on my G2622. I was just wondering if it would be at all possible to put more standard looking humbucker pickup covers on the BT style pickups? I personally am not a big fan of the BT style covers, but I don't want to go and change something before I am sure I can. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

They are soldered on, but you could use regular filtertron covers if you can find them. You just need a good, hot soldering iron.

IIRC (and that's a big if) I read somewhere here that the BTs are not the same size as standard Filtertrons?

Looks to me like the Broadtron is closer to a stand humbucker than to a filtertron. Has anybody exchanged a B-tron for an F'tron? is it painful or reasonably easy? I have my first Gretsch after 50 years with humbuckers of acoustic classical guitar, I grabbed a Streamliner Jr. and am wondering about making it Gretschier with a fitertron or TV Jones transplant. I do like the Broadtrons, but they are a bit more generic than I expected.

I have the Broad'Trons on my 2420. The guitar itself is fantastic - and not just for the money. Love its big wide open resonance.

I do not love the pickups. I did not love them when they were called "GretschBuckers," or when I got the same (looking) pickups on a Carlo Robelli.

They claim to have been redesigned especially for the Streamliner series, with a lot of nebulous tone words. Far as I can tell, the redesign extended to renaming them. They're not bad pickups. They're perfectly competent budget humbuckers. They're just bad Gretsch pickups.

And I understand they're used for economy. I guess they help lure new buyers into fantastic and very affordable guitars bearing the Gretsch logo...but which don't sound all that much like Gretschs. (And I am extremely impressed with the Streamliner range, great build quality, tremendous value.)