Other Guitars

who’s using Music Man basses ?

For some reason I have gotten interested in the Music Man single pickup bass... sure seem to be a lot of variants. I guess Ernie Ball got them when Music Man went down in the 80s some time.

All are active electronics? This is one case where I heard the newer ones are better than older ones, that have crispy/fried 40 year old activec electronics and newer ones havec a more modern design and components.

I guess there was a lower priced Asian version... probably had to be that.

I have a good friend named Molly Pauken who’s a Music Man endorser. Her basses are scary good and she sounds like gold on them.

I have been playing a Music Man Sabre 4 string bass since 1979. The Sabre was not well received and was discontinued. Then, Ernie Ball bought the company and the Sabre was reissued and then discontinued again. The Sabre was the 2 pickup version of the Sting Ray. The Sting Ray is also known as the toilet seat bass due to the oval pick guard (look at a picture). Old Sting Rays command a higher price than the Sabre model, despite the Sabre (IMO) being more versatile tonally and far more scarce. As far as I know, all Sting Rays and Sabres have active electronics onboard.

Before buying the Sabre, I was playing a 1973 Rick 4001. When the Rick wasn't cutting it for the music we were doing, I switched to the Music Man and have been playing it since. It is fairly reliced, but all the wear is mine. It started as a natural finish but now looks as though it has been dipped in honey. It will probably go in the box with me at the end.

1983 or so.......

A lot fewer battle scars on both the bass and me.

Our bass player has been playing a 5-string Music Man for about 15-20 years now. It sounds great.

Well I would be into a metallic finish Stingray w/ maple neck. When did Ernie Ball take them over. I am doubting there is a 'pre CBS' kinda vibe bout the pre Ernie Ball ones.