General tech questions

The VOX tone

Maybe a silly question and I'm no electrician or amp expert, but I just got an AC15 2x12 and the tone is addicting! Just what I've always heard in my head; what makes that unique sound that differs it from fender/Marshall etc? It seems to be much the same ingredients as many other amps, but the sound seems to distort and fuzz out from the top down, meaning that fuzzy jangle high end but relatively clean lows, which I like and is very different from my old fender and Marshall where the low end would break up and get muddy before the highs had any power. Feel free to get technical with any answers, I'll catch up haha

Class-A circuit. Link

– audept

Thanks! That pretty clearly summed up what I was looking for and suspected, my amp fits that Class A description to a tee, I love it! So going forward, can I expect to enjoy most "Class A" amps or will they vary as much as anything else?

It's magic.

– wabash slim

It is magic !

EF86.

– Strummerson

Not in the standard reissue, Strum.

Not in the standard reissue, Strum.

– sascha

Thought Class A with an EF86 in the pre-amp was the special sauce recipe.