Other Guitars

Eastman T484 - Needs pro setup or different pickups?

I love my Eastman T484 for it's exquisite craftsmanship. Everything from the fretboard to the body binding is incredible! But it sounds "off". Maybe a little pinched or flat (the tone, not the tuning).

The previous owner installed LollarTrons, and I thought I'd like them. They're somewhere between a FilterTron and a PAF. More clarity than a PAF in the highs, but definitely not as much character as a FilterTron.

I had to raise the action a little because I think the strings may have been losing sustain due to the action being too close to the frets. But I'm no expert at setups and not sure what else to try. And not sure if the guitar needs a pro setup or different pickups that compliment it better. I've had it almost a year now, and it's just missing some life or vibe. Any thoughts?

I’d start with making sure the pickup height is set correctly. Hard to tell from your pic, but they look kinda close to the strings. Maybe go with TV Jones’s recommendations for pickup height?

I’d start with making sure the pickup height is set correctly. Hard to tell from your pic, but they look kinda close to the strings. Maybe go with TV Jones’s recommendations for pickup height?

– Hipbone

I don't have a measurement device that can go as fine as 5/32 of an inch (from TV Jones website). Probably should invest in one. But I can lower the pickups and see what changes.

Last night I started experimenting with gain settings and learned that LollarTrons really like to rock out. They wake up when using overdrive. I play mostly glassy clean, and I don't think they're happiest with that tone.

Frank’s a big Eastman guy. I’d consult with him.

UPDATE: I noticed the strings are planted firmly on the back edge of the bridge. I'll try raising the tail piece so they clear. Or top wrap the strings if necessary.

I noticed the strings are planted firmly on the back edge of the bridge.