Other Guitars

Beyond the “Starfire”…

What other Guild models are favorites?

I've commented a few times about the Guilds occasionally on display here in this section...Even, might have, eluded to some interest from prospective Sellers...

I need a lesson or two about the hollow body electrics...

My friend has a 1950 something Aristocrat. I love that thing!

Here is a picture he sent me of it with the Hollywood sign in the background.

Starfires were the hot lick in 1965-67. WB Walter Broes may be our resident Guild expert.

I'm no expert, I just have Hans Moust's excellent Guild book, and I have a few nice old Guilds. The M75 Aristocrat is a pretty unique one, effectively a mini archtop - Les Paul sized and fully hollow.

I love My X175 Manhattans : 17' full depth hollowbodies. In Gretsch terms they're roughly compare to a Country Club, in Gibson terms it would be sort of an ES350.

Enjoying my A150 Savoy.

I've had a couple of CE-100D models. They are a thinline hollowbody with a Florentine cutaway. One of them came from Billy D. Couldn't get used to the narrowness of the neck near the nut on the models I had.

My favourite Guild was a Starfire III. I should NOT have sold it! Currently I have a Korean X-175B.

I've had a couple of CE-100D models. They are a thinline hollowbody with a Florentine cutaway. One of them came from Billy D. Couldn't get used to the narrowness of the neck near the nut on the models I had.

My favourite Guild was a Starfire III. I should NOT have sold it! Currently I have a Korean X-175B.

– reverb11

Here's the Starfire III mentioned above...

In addition to my Westerly Starfire 5, I have a 1998 X-170 on which a Bigsby has been mounted along with a new bridge. The X-170 is the same profile as the X-175 but is not as deep making it sort of a mid body. Extremely comfortable to play and, with the 10-52 ground round wounds on it, it has the best action of any guitar I own.