Other Equipment

What to know about buying an Echoplex?

I've found a reasonable deal on an EP3. The unit appears to have been serviced recently and comes with some extra parts (and a new tape cartridge). I've read everything I could find on them and everything seems to check out.

Just wondering if there are any gotchas or red flags to look out for with these. I'm very comfortable with working on amps and electronics, and pretty good with mechanical stuff, so I'm not too worried about maintenance.

Are they really the magic boxes that they seem to be? Does the maintenance and upkeep eventually outweigh the magic? I'm an avid 35mm photographer, so I'm no stranger to sacrificing a little bit of convenience for a little bit of magic.

Thanks for any and all opinions.

Also, since it worked with my last two posts like this, if anyone has a tape delay they're trying to unload, let me know.

They are magic. I’ve owned and used one for close to 28 years. Quite reliable. The overDrive quality is so unique and simply fantastic Enjoy.

YOU will love owning an Echoplex. For the reasons you mention - electronics experience, mechanical aptitude - plus the fact that you're fearless but not foolhardy. You'll identify with the machine in the sense that, once you have some hands-on (and I know you've already done the background research on how and why it is what it is), you'll develop an instinctive sense for what it can do, what it can't do, when it's happy and when it's headed for trouble.

Not everyone should own an Echoplex. They do require ongoing (but not obsessive or burdenson) attention, and someone who expects pedal-like ruggedness, reliability, predictability - who is oblivious to old concepts like preventive maintenance and respecting the nature of the particular machine at hand - should not own an Echoplex.