Other Equipment

Reverb Pedal

I've been using a new reverb pedal for almost two months now and really like it. The Electro-harmonix Cathedral stereo reverb. You can tweak the knobs and get some great sounds. I learned about it viewing some tube videos. The echo mode is a nice delay too. A bit expensive, but worth it.

might check it out... although I like my nano Holy Grail just fine

Catalinbread Topanga here. Incredible little box. One mode only (spring). Right mode though. I've heard of the Cathedral but never had the chance to check it out. How about a little more by way of a review?

might check it out... although I like my nano Holy Grail just fine

– DCBirdMan

Yeah, I have that Nano Holy Grail and it is perfect. A bare bones pedal...does what it is supposed to. And does it well.

I also have the newest version of the BOSS reverb pedals, the RV-6. I bought it for the SHIMMER feature. WOW! Out of this world. The reverb features are fantastic, but that shimmer thing is incredible.

General - per your request. I’ll give a little review and I recommend trying it out and listening to various demo’s on your tube. So hard for me to describe tone.

Initially I was looking for a pedal with a good plate reverb. I have an old Boss RV-3 with a plate mode I like and so bought the RV-6. After 3 days at home I returned it because I liked the plate on the RV-3 more. The shimmer is cool on the RV-6 and it’s a nice pedal, but for me it was too close to what I already had. The RV-3 does not have shimmer or spring that the RV-6 has.

Another try was the nano holy grail with a single knob and the little toggle switch that selects spring, hall or flerb. A store had a used one for $40.00 and I gave it a quick 30 second try, liked it and brought it home. Tried it at home and found that the toggle switch didn’t work, but I liked the spring mode a lot. The holy grail was easy to use and sounded great. I returned it and bought the Cathedral.