Other Equipment

Looking for a good Compressor pedal

I've never used one before, but after watching a few demos, i thought i might try one out.

What are some good ones to look for? I hear (watched) good things about Wampler Ego. The JHS Pulp and Peel looks pretty good also (and i like their pedals a lot based on the ones i tried)

Any others? any thoughts on the ones mentioned above?

I've been using the Mr. Black Big Payback compressor. It uses a VCA chip, which IMO makes for a much cleaner, more predictable, and more versatile compression effect than a lot of the older designs using opamps. No fuss, no surprises, no artifacts. It's capable of all the classic sounds, sounds great in all settings, and has a few cool tricks up its sleeve (slow attack, expander). It's also made by a small builder who's circuit design I admire greatly.

I've also enjoyed an MXR Custom Comp, which offers a little more versatility than the classic Dyna Comp. If you tend to be fussy about noise, but want the "Dyna sound", look into the Truetone Comp 66, which has a built-in noise gate.

The compressor I liked best of all the ones I tried was the Three Leaf Audio Pwnzor (no idea what that name means). It has a lot of headroom; more than most. I want a compressor to be absolutely 100% clean 100% of the time, and most of the ones I tried would get overdriven (just a little, but I could hear it) by a guitar with strong pickups if I hit it hard.

This one also has a switch for "Modern" and Vintage" compression that changes between those two compression styles.

the only one I've ever liked is a little xotic SP job. At least, I think that's what it's called.

Where is Proteus when you need him??