Other Equipment

homerecording

I've been a Tascam fan for decades, since the days of tape. Never been impressed with Zoom, but that's me.

How about 4 tracks? It happens I have one of these for sale, literally never used, at 100.00 less.

https://www.sweetwater.com/...

Mine's here: https://reverb.com/item/108...

Might be not only a good one to start with (built-in reverb, 4 separate tracks), but something you can grow with for awhile too.

Here is my recording demo with Zoom H1 (multitrack with aid of computer). I have no experience with Tascam, I think both should be fine, if all you need is single stereo track recording. But as Proteus wrote, you might want to consider multitrack recorder instead.

I have a DR-05. I think that it sounds very good and natural. I've used it mainly to record acoustic demos to remember songs. I bought a little stand adapter for it, and if positioned in a good spot, it could do close to album quality recordings. The built in compression and stereo reverbs sound really nice. You can record it right to a WAV file and easily upload it, or burn it to a cd-r.

If you wanted to have 24 tracks, I would recommend the Tascam DP24SD. Price is about $500 new, but you could get if for $400 - $425 if you catch a good sale. You can't have too many tracks. It has a large color screen and large faders.

If you wanted to have 24 tracks, I would recommend the Tascam DP24SD. Price is about $500 new, but you could get if for $400 - $425 if you catch a good sale. You can't have too many tracks. It has a large color screen and large faders.

– beatbyrd

I just recently got that recorder. I love it! Do you have one?? I got mine under 4 on a sale. I recorded this album on it: https://andhow1.bandcamp.co...

I was looking at these but then was birthday gifted (today’s the day) a Presonus Audiobox USB 96 and Shure SM58. I don’t have the XLR cable yet for the mic, but it is due shortly.