Other Equipment

Advice, Comments, Recommendations for DAW: ProTools, Ableton Live, …

Happy New Year, All!

My resolution for this year is to finally start recording all the original music I've accumulated. I have about 3 albums' worth of material, and I'm hoping to finish the first one this year. The first order of business is to decide which Digital Audio Workstation to invest in and learn. I have a little experience with Pro Tools and Cubase, and was shown some pretty impressive features today about Ableton Live. So, I'd very much appreciate feedback from any of you that have used any of these to help in my decision. Some basics about me and what I'm up to:

• I previously started on a Korg digital 16 track recorder, so I have some experience with the basics of digital recording. I've done recording projects (someone else engineering) in both Pro Tools and Cubase, and soundwise don't hear enough difference to be concerned with. I tend to learn softwares pretty quickly, but shifting between performer and engineer roles is difficult for me, so intuitiveness of use is a factor.

• I know Pro Tools is the industry standard, but also hear it takes longer to learn, and is more menu-driven than perhaps I'd like, but again, that's only one (though important) factor. It appears that Ableton can export recorded sound files to be uploaded into Pro Tools for mixing and mastering, with some effort but not too much difficulty, so that 's a helpful option. Your thoughts/experiences?

• The music I'm working on is more traditional/realistic ---- not so much electronica, dance, etc. Jazz, reggae, Latin, funk, etc. I plan to play most of the instruments myself, with maybe some ringers brought in for congas/timbales/percussion, harmony vocals, horns and such.