Other Amps

who’s eaten up w/ white/oxblood Bandmasters?

Oh, I would be if there were any earthly justification.

An earthly justification? What about a message from God? HE just told me to let you know you should buy it!

That's all well and good, but he'll have to produce a signed note of permission from my wife.

And to think that 19 years ago, I paid around $450 for my '65 Blackface Bandmaster head - nah, not for $3500. My old Blackface Bandmaster sounded kind of choked when you drove it hard. I'm not sure if a '62 blonde is different enough, from my old '65, to make it worth spending that kind of coin.

My first Fender amp was a Blonde/Oxblood Dual Showman.

Still kicking myself for not hanging on to that one. It did help fund a B-3 so...

Does blonde/gold (not quite) sparkle count?

I've got the 1961 -- when they still had the tone ring.

I have a Bandmaster 1 x 12 tone ring cabinet from 1961 that I am restoring.

Beautiful! I wish my '64 Bandmaster looked like that!

But at least my '90s Tonemaster does look like that.

I know that when the Tremolux piggyback went into the blackface era, the size of its cabinet increased. Maybe it's just the angle but the Gruhn one in the OP looks like when Bandmaster went from tonering 1x12 (my one above) to 2x12 the cabinet grew lengthwise. Anybody know for sure?

I know a number of guys who use brownface Bandmasters in surf bands. My bandmate Shecky has one, been modded with a Bassman OT, and it's nearly as loud as my brownface Showman.

The brownface amps are beefy, sort of a mid point in the evolution from tweed to blackface. The harmonic vibrato is really cool, and I find the presence control essential for dialing in with hotter single coils like DeArmonds or Mosrites.