Other Amps

Speaker Cables - What Do I Need to Know Before I Buy?

Hello GDPers!

Tomorrow will be NAD over here and I need to shore up some last minute goodies. I went for a head and 1x10" cabinet setup this time around. I've only ever used combo amplifiers in my life, so I need some help with purchasing a speaker cable.

I did a quick Google search and it seems that the factions are firmly split between "a very high quality cable is a must to maintain tone integrity" and "it has absolutely no effect on your tone." I'm sure the truth is somewhere in the middle, but I have no experience or electrical engineering background to make an informed decision. I don't have a space or the time to procure materials and solder one up myself either (what many online recommend).

Any brands that you would recommend? Any features or specifications for which I should be on the lookout?

Thanks in advance for the help!

Don't be taken in by snake oil salesmen. The main thing to look for is heavy wire---18 gauge or more. The lower the number, the heavier the wire. DO NOT use coax---standard guitar cable. Twisted pair or zip/lamp cord is what you're after.

Go one bigger than lamp cord, and you're fine. Make sure the plugs are good quality and well attached. Stay away from anyone trying to sell you something expensive.

Big can of worms. Good luck.

There is a difference. You just need to decide how picky your ears are and how much you wanna pay.

Scott Rust makes the most amazing cables I’ve ever seen. He makes a lot for studios. If price is no object you might get in touch with him.

Most speaker cables available at music stores work fine. Belden cable and Neutrik/Switchcraft 1/4” jacks as a minimum quality. 14 or 16 Ga wire. I’ve had pretty good luck with Monster and Planet Waves. Just don’t use high impedence guitar cable.

"Just don’t use high impedence guitar cable. "