Other Amps

Princeton Reverb with a Jensen C10 R or P10 R — which would you c…

For lower volume (5 or under) playing....

AlNiCo for me please, sir. :) P10R, to my ears

Putting in a 12" would be my first consideration and then decide which version from there.

C10R, I always thought my '74 Silverface sounded great.

If you go higher power or to a 15", then AlNiCo...

Neither, you can get much nicer speakers than new Jensens. If you want something C10R-ish, get a Warehouse Veteran 20. For something P10R-ish, Eminence 1028K.

Weber for Alnico. Chicago series or Sig series.

I have no experience with Jensens, new or old

Vintage Jensen C10N or Weber 10A150 alnico. HUGE sound and you'll hear the amp break up before the speaker.

Oh, if there's a chance of having another brand, I'd also suggest Weber and/or Hemp Tone, for the same P10ish, AlNiCo thing

Or, there are old Jensens (even reconed ones) still sounding great, all over Ebay

The original (non-reissue) P10R may be my all-time favorite guitar speaker, but I'm not sure it's the speaker I'd put in a Princeton Reverb. I've worked on numerous Princetons, and the original C10N or Celestion G10 Vintage sound best to my ears.

Alnico if you overdrive it. Ceramic if you play clean more.....(oversimplification)

Jensen C10N is everyones favorite. I also like mid 60's CTS and mid 60's blue Utahs that have mfg codes starting with MX,(really cheap on EBAY) but I like to push them, for clean tones it's C10N

Well bein' a clean player.. .then best to stick w the stock ceramic.

However Mojo makes Princeton baffles cut for a 12, so that is what will go in here after all.

A nice JBL 12" D130 would sound cool in that amp. Definitely an upgrade over a 10".

Well bein' a clean player.. .then best to stick w the stock ceramic.

However Mojo makes Princeton baffles cut for a 12, so that is what will go in here after all.

– DCBirdMan