Other Amps

Peavey Classic 20 head

Hi, long time lurker here (used to post before the Great Wipeout but I can't remember my login).

Thread title says it all really. Has anyone any experience with this amp? I'm keen on the attenuation feature and the price, plus the 20w would mean I could possibly gig with the right cabinet.

But is it any good?

Thanks.

Since I have very little direct experience with that amp, but can't resist seeing my Name On the Screen on the Internet, NATURALLY I'll answer.

The Classic 30 keeps proving itself as my Favorite Amp Ever. Not that I would say it's my FAE, but it's the one I keep plugging into at home and taking to gigs, despite having other FAEs to choose from. So, for practical purposes...let's just say it's a great amp.

It's not BIG, by any means, or particularly heavy. But, even at just 30 watts, it can be loud. It's louder than I need for most applications, so it rarely gets turned up to where the tubes get much exercise. (It still sounds great.)

Point of this? I've plugged into the Classic 20 in stores, hoping it would just be a physically smaller incarnation of the same tone and vibe as the Classic 30.

But it doesn't seem to be. It's differently voiced, the low end seems almost artificially attenuated compared to the C30, and it seems to be at its best in a midrangey condition of overdrive. (The C30, by comparison, is equally adept at fat, rich clean tones and rockin' almost Marshally crunch and drive.)

To me, the C20 has a lot in common functionally - even tonally - with the Blues Junior. It seems an amp built for drive, with an acceptable (not special) clean tone being accidentally available. In my limited experience, to my ears, and from my perspective as a committed C30 fan, the C20 is to the C30 as a Blues Junior is to a Deluxe Reverb. It's the rockin' little brother, but it doesn't really clean up for formal occasions.