Other Amps

NAD - Dr. Z Z-Lux

I jut picked up a Dr. Z Z-Lux amp the other day. Holy hell this is a great amp. I'm seriously blown away by this amp. It's 40 watts, switchable to 20. Four 6v6 power section. Reverb and Trem. Variable boost.

Basically Z's take on a Deluxe Reverb. A modified version of his JAZ amp.

It's my first time playing anything Dr. Z and I'm seriously just blown away at how amazing this amp sounds. The thing is built like a tank too.

Paired with a Z-Best 2x12 (ported cab) with the stock V30 and G12H.

My 6120RHH and Baja Tele sounds YUUUUGE through this rig. This amp LOVES pedals too.

The big test will come Wednesday at band practice. I REALLY hope this thing sounds half as good with the band as it does alone.

This is the type of amp that just makes you want to keep playing.

How does the reverb and trem sound on these amps? I have two Dr.Z's great amps though mine are el-84 amps I'd like to get one with reverb

How does the reverb and trem sound on these amps? I have two Dr.Z's great amps though mine are el-84 amps I'd like to get one with reverb

– Gretsch6123

The reverb is really good, not super surf springy, more hall or plate sounding IMO but still has some bounce to it. The harder you dig in and the louder you play the amp the better it sounds.

The trem is awesome. Very swampy, I love it. It doesn't quite get into that super square wave stutter tremolo though.

Now if I could find the "ZWreck" grill cloth online somewhere so I can re-cover the 2x12 cab to match the head.

I had four 6V6s in a Twin Reverb once. That's a great sound, and you can't beat a Dr Z.

Weren't you a pretty dedicated Bassman/combo player? Just testing the water? Or do you find the Bassman lacking?

sounds like the Emplex 40 that Tophat made me some 10yrs back. It could handle 4x 6V6 in class A or AB Pushpull, although it was designed around a JTM-45, switchable to JCM. I wish I still had it.. this sounds more my speed these days thoughVideo demo time!