Other Amps

Best 6L6’s for a Deluxe reverb

folks, I'm re-tubing my amp and I'm trying to find the best 6l6's for my 1972 fender deluxe reverb. I play a tenn. rose with few effects (a zvex super hard on and some delay)...

I'm thinking of TAD 6L6 WGC-STR...

I was just gonna go with the middle of the road tubes, but I've been playing for a few decades and my band has been playing out more, so i figure i should start paying attention to this kinda stuff.

I know it depends on the application, so here is what my band has been up to.

thanks for the advice!

Hey Buddy - Deluxe Reverbs typically have 6V6 power tubes. Has yours been converted to 6L6?

here's the label, I am not well versed in this stuff.

OK, so they are 6L6. Never mind.

Well that's an odd one. Maybe your amp got the wrong tube chart, I've never heard of a stock Deluxe Reverb with 6L6's.

you're right, i checked the current tubes and they're 6V6...huh...well, is the rest of the graph right? because I'm going to replace everything. already have 2 pairs of 12AX7's picked out and a Mullard 12AT7... i just need the 6V6's and the 5U4GB

Hmmm....I just double checked my Deluxe Reverb and the tubes are definitely 6V6. The Fender website specs 6V6, as do several (on line) aftermarket tube sets for this amp. Is there a chance that the wrong label somehow got into your amp?

Hmmm....I just double checked my Deluxe Reverb and the tubes are definitely 6V6. The Fender website specs 6V6, as do several (on line) aftermarket tube sets for this amp. Is there a chance that the wrong label somehow got into your amp?

– Viper

...or perhaps it's not a Deluxe Reverb???

haha, it's definitely a deluxe. I have 2 friends with the same amp and their's say 6V6...so im pretty sure it's the wrong label.

TAD seem to have a pretty good selection process for new tubes, they're pretty trouble-free.

But NOS 6V6's are not that expensive yet, worth taking a look at KCA NOS tubes' site, for example.