On the 'tube

Gretsch 6118 vs Fender Jazzmaster

Maybe comparing Apples to Oranges but it is a nice video -

No Jazzmaster I've ever played sounds like that.

No Jazzmaster I've ever played sounds like that.

– seadevil

Sounds like my Strat to me.

I thought I was the only one. Maybe it's the amp/settings/box but the two sounded remarkably similar discounting the hollowbody/solidbody air/no-air differences. I still have a Jag/Jazz itch to scratch....

I have a 65 AVRI Jazzmaster in Aztec Gold and the same 6118 but with a Bigsby.They do sit in the same tone "quadrant".I tend to use the Gretsch live and the JM as my backup unless I am doing my surf instrumental thing . My Jazzmaster sounds very much like the demo'd one (same pickups)I got rid of my Strat after getting the JM. It just suits my needs much more.A great complimentary pair of guitars.

I played my '56 6120 with a supervisor on a lazy summer Saturday in a 5 acre warehouse. He had a '61 Jazzmaster and it was the meanest sounding guitar I ever heard. I think the 6120 with DeArmonds was actually trebl-ier, but it was a great match as the JM had the sustain. A very fun memory.

If your Strat sounds like that JM I'd look around for another one. Good Strats don't sound like that, IMHO.

From the intro I was expecting to get suprised by sonic similarities but both guitars sounded as different as they should. Since I assume they were played through the same setup none of them could really shine, though.

The video was also proof to my theory that the Jazzmaster is the guitar model with the biggest sonic discrepancy between new and vintage.

Looks to me like that Jazzmaster is an American Pro version, which has different pickups than the Jazzmasters of yore. To me the current "Pure Vintage" Jazzmaster pickups sound way better than the "V-Mod" pickups in that American Pro model.

If your Strat sounds like that JM I'd look around for another one. Good Strats don't sound like that, IMHO.