Modern Gretsch Guitars

Worn finishes?

I’m curious about “well” played guitars and their worn finishes?
I’ve been playing for 40 years and have never had a guitar develop any sort of wear patterns in the finish.

Is this just a phenomenon of older/ different finishes? I’ve had my nitro finish Annie since 2008 and play the hell out of it. It has some nicks and slight scratches but no wear patterns.

What’s the deal with necks where the finish starts to wear off?

I do like the look of a well played guitar.

Is relicing the only way a modern guitar will ever look like this?
I understand how poly finishes will never look this way on their own, but I thought nitro would?

I have 70 year old guitars that look whupped and nearly new. Seems like the solid bodies deteriorate quicker, but this is a purely anecdotal and unscientific opinion - perhaps it's a function of relative cost to owner care issue.

How often its played will naturally make a difference. Like shoes if you wear only one pair they’ll look worn out in a short time. But if you have several pair and rotate them ten year old shoes can look like they are one year in age.

Thee are a lot of factors that affect finishes. The finish on Rory Gallagher's Strats worn off for something in his sweat.

My 62 Falcon was previously owned by an LA studio musician and it looks like he used the money frets.

Hmmm.... perhaps some folks have some acidic sweat?

Yeah and you'll see less and less because the poly family of finishes are completely seal off the wood so nothing gets in or out so they won't wear.