Modern Gretsch Guitars

Which Anniversary model is right for me?

I’ve been in love with the 2 tone green anniversary since I started playing guitar in 2006. Recently I got a little surprise cash! Time to make my dream a reality! My question is, if I want a dual anniversary, two tone green, with bigsby, and Original thickness (I hate thinline guitars), what are the reissue models that I should be looking for?

What is important to you in the way of features? But I would consider this.. If you play loud, go with the Player's Edition, the ML Bracing and the thinner body really helps to keep feedback in check, and the slightly thinner body is not a "slimline" per se (which I don't like either). And it sounds GREAT at low volumes too. I sold my first Anniversary because it was really hard to control when playing with my band, and we didn't even play that loud. I also love the Player's Edition features like...

Tone control instead of mud switch. Pinless bigsby Rocking bar bridge (the best with Bigsby vibratos) Locking Schaller tuners (these are great with the Bigsby) PIO caps No load tone pot Treble bleed on the master volume (took me a while to warm up to this feature).

Here's mine...

What are the thicknesses that the anni has come in over the years?

I've used an older (64) completely hollow double anniversary in a very loud distorted setting and I didn't have feedback problems. I had to get right up to the amp to get feedback.(When I wanted it) There all pretty cool. Vintage ones are great too and probably similar in price if you are buying new.

However if I was to buy a modern one I would buy used and save a bunch of money.

Keep in mind any hollowbody with serious internal top to back bracing is more like a solid body with hollowbody looks. Cool, if that's what you want and or are used to.