Modern Gretsch Guitars

Thinking about a Jet

This forum helped me find my first Gretsch, a beautiful 6122-1959. It’s also made me take notice of the many and varied Jets. If I had to describe my playing, I’d say I’m an amateur Wilco... I vary somewhere between traditional country and noisy rock.

I’ve noticed a few guitars locally at decent prices, so here’s the question. Beyond the above guitar, which of these would you recommend as a second Gretsch:

1) a silver jet with dynos. This seems to be a logical next step. Different body different pickups.

2) a two-pickup Malcolm Young model. I live the double cutaway, but no Bigsby.

3) a 6120 CGP. A real wild card, but there’s one for sale locally at a good price. Similar in many ways to my 6122 and I’d never use the stereo mode, but I love an orange Gretsch.

What would you folks recommend?

The Dyna Jet would provide the most tonal contrast to your 6122, so if tonal variety is important to you, that could be an excellent way to go. If the MY model's double cutaway and lack of a Bigsby are appealing, that could be good too. Some players HAVE to have a Bigsby --- if that's you, than the MY could be less appealing than the Dyna Jet, since you'd have to modify it to make it what you want.

As you pointed out, the 6120 CGP would be the closest to your 6122, but for some players, the color is enough of a factor to overrule other considerations. You're the one who will be playing them, so ultimately you'll need to evaluate how important each of the factors is to you --- body size, pickup type, Bigsby or lack thereof, finish, etc.