Other Amps

1432 pre-amp tubes

Howdy all, this is my first time back since the crash….anyway….I’m looking for some tech advice. I’ve been playing through my silvertone 1432 a lot lately, and swapping preamp tubes quite a bit. I’m thinking of trying a 12DW7 in place of the 12ax7. Going for a lower gain on one input, higher on the other, to a/b inputs. I was hoping someone with some tech chops could have a look at the schematic(link below), and let me know if that’ll hurt anything based on the circuitry. Also, because it’s a split-chassis amp, there is a phono plug that connects the preamp to the power section. Could I use that connection as an effects send/return and place a OD/echo/reverb pedal in between without negatively affecting the performance of the amp? Inquiring minds want to know….

Schematic link:

Thanks for the help!

The same tube is used for both the instrument inputs and the mic input. It won't matter what you change it to. The preamp out level is too strong for the input of a pedal, so that idea won't work either.

OK., I understand that the preamp out level could be too hot. But..isn't the 12ax7 preamp tube being split between Inst. and mic input? half & half? because then they go to separate tone/volume controls....I a/b mic/inst channel all the time with different tone/volumes, but was trying to take advantage of the different sides of the 12DW7 for a gain difference on different inputs..... My big concern was ensuring that it doesn't cause any voltage problems if I pop a DW7 in there...

Both sides of the tube have the same gain. Swaps for 12AX7 would be a 12AT7 or a 12AY7, both with less gain.

A 12DW7 has different gains. one half is a 12ax7 and other half a 12au7, that's why I want to use it, but I'm concerned if this affects anything down the line, with voltage, draw, etc., on this old amp.....