Modern Gretsch Guitars

New here and to Gretsch

Hello all I am new to The Gretsch Pages and Gretsch in general. I currently have a 5420t FSR in black and gold, but I am looking to add or replace. I have the 2013 G6120-59LTV on hold at Dave's an wanted some opinions on the year and model. Not looking for an investment piece, but one I can play and enjoy, Please be kind to a newbie and let me know you opinions on the guitar. Thanks,Sam

Welcome to the zoo.

I think 2013 is a great year for a 59LTV in general. With modern Terada-produced Gretsch instruments, there really are no "bad" years-- it's a matter of minor changes year over year, and what speaks to you personally.

Welcome to all things Gretsch!...and crap about other brands as well. The one overriding thing to keep in mind is that in 2003 Fender took over the manufacturing aspect and there was a return to accurate overall dimensions, thinner [laminated] body sections and upgraded pups and harnesses. Since then, the guitars have been the best quality manufactured.

The guitar you have on hold will be a winner for sure!

Welcome to all things Gretsch!...and crap about other brands as well. The one overriding thing to keep in mind is that in 2003 Fender took over the manufacturing aspect and there was a return to accurate overall dimensions, thinner [laminated] body sections and upgraded pups and harnesses. Since then, the guitars have been the best quality manufactured.

The guitar you have on hold will be a winner for sure!

– Windsordave

Which is funny because I remember us dreading the Fender buy out and thought the first ones out of the gate weren't that great. Maybe we were just pissed they were fixing some problems...that guitars we owned had.

You'll be happy with your guitar.

If you like your 5420T you will LOVE, and I mean love love love, your 6120