Modern Gretsch Guitars

It’s Been a While - Last Ditch Gretsch Attempt For Me

Hi People,

It's been a while for me. As you know, I used to be everybody's favorite Country Club nut. Why did I disappear? Well, my last 'Club was one of the first year '59 Reissues. As you know, those have trestle bracing. It was decent guitar but it weighed a ton (almost as much as the 1980 Gibson Howard Roberts Fusion I gigged with for most of the 90s, that was the heaviest electric guitar I've ever had [it literally weighed 13 lbs, and used to give me a sore left shoulder by the time the 2nd set rolled around]). I got fed up with the the '59 Reissue 'Club's weight.

Also, after decades of playing guitar (I've been playing since 1979), I got tired of dealing with guitars with thin necks (I bought into the whole "a slim neck is a fast playing neck" nonsense for a long time), and having had since about 2014, a few non-Gretsches with chunkier necks that I found oh so comfortable, I decided to say bye-bye to guitars with thin necks (which so many Gretsches seem to have). Thin necks probably wouldn't be much of an issue for me it I did like most players, and played with my thumb sticking up or over the neck, while fisting the neck with my left hand, and making use of my thumb, to fret the lower strings for certain chords, but I play in the classical style (courtesy of an uncle who had classical guitar lessons instructing me to do so back in 1979), with my thumb behind the neck, which unless you have tiny hands, makes thin necks uncomfortable. This requirement (for a chunkier guitar neck), has made it a bit of hassle for me to find guitars (both electric and acoustic) that I like. Due to a lack of neck dimension information (for both the neck thickness, and the neck width) by guitar manufacturers, I've had more than a few failed guitar experiments (grr!!!), with regards to both electric and acoustic guitars (I found out the hard way [I bought a DSS-17], that me and the Modified Low Oval nec