Miscellaneous Rumbles

Finding your muse without The Great Pumpkin

The power of music... The amazing thing about music is that it has the ability to tap into human emotion. It speaks to us in a different way than almost any other form of communication. What I admire most about what I “feel” defines great music is its ability to stir my soul. I have come to use the term believable when describing music that moves me. It is the same quality that myth has over people. When we are able to feel something from a performer, when they pour their soul into a piece, when they let us in, we are transformed. We become larger than ourselves. This is is the gift of being human. Within us is the ability to be moved, and in this way we grow.
It is a gift to be an artist, yes it requires years of practice and sacrifice, but it is an honorable calling. Art and life are intimately connected.
Many times as an artist I find it difficult to find inspiration. My question is; what stirs you? What is your muse, your inspiration for creating?

Love, Hate, Pain, Euphoria. Usually one of those to an extreme or on a whim. In a moment where one has to contemplate the next move. Mostly....LIFE.

It’s not intended to be funny. It’s just an honest question, that I believe was answered very quickly.
...and as a professional artist in both the visual and performing/music arts it is a very real issue that many of us face. How do we find inspiration? One of the greatest ways I find inspiration is with the collaboration of others. Many times I need that initial spark from someone else to trigger my creativity.

For me, it's always better as a collaborative effort.

Sometimes, it's just a clever turn of phrase. About a year ago, two of my friends and I started goofing around, just writing down cliches to try to make a song entirely out of them.

By the end of the evening, we'd composed a thoughtful, slightly dark cautionary tale about trying to outrun one's problems.