Modern Gretsch Guitars

Duo Jet G6128T or G6120DS

I'm having a hard time deciding my next guitar. At the moment, I have a Country Gentleman that is probably my favourite sounding guitar. I also have a Jazzmaster that I'm in the process of putting Filtertrons in.

Having recently sold my 335 (not really a Gibson guy), I'm now in the market for another Gretsch, and thinking of getting something with Dynasonics, and a 24.6" scale to cover more Gretsch tone territory. I've played a G6120DS, and a G6128T, and instantly fell in love with them; however, I honestly can't decide between them. What would you guys pick?

What pickups are in the Duo Jet?

I am not sure why you would put Filters in your Jazzmaster if you are buying more Gretsches. Why not hang on to the JM with its distinctive tone?

The Duo Jet also has Dynasonics.

I have a '65 AVRI Jazzmaster that pulls most of my guitar duties. This other Jazzmaster will be a separate beast, and is comprised of mostly spare parts. I just wanted to marry my favourite guitar, with my favourite pickups.

Both, obviously. Different beasts, both superb and with uniquely different tone.

Start with the one that lights you up most at the moment.

I have setzer filters in a thinline jazzmaster and it’s great, sounds halfway between a gretsch and a regular jm, the vibrato has a lot to do with it. I have a hollow gretsch with tv classics and a 6128t with t-armonds and don’t feel that they overlap that much. I would recommend the jet if it’s a dynasonic model and you’ll have more variety (plus a fantastic easy to play guitar).

I'll be interested to hear the Filtertron JM for just the reason you mention - it's my favorite solidbody as well (but with JM pickups).

(This is not disloyal to Gretsch; the Jet is my favorite chambered solidbody.)

I've been more curious about DynaSonics on a JM - like you, to marry two favorites - but then I thought I'd want the JM chambered.

Finally I decided to leave them as two distinct species.