Modern Gretsch Guitars

Chet Atkins hollowbody and A country Classic II

Hi , I am a newbie to Gretsch guitars and would appreciate help with the correct model number (so that I can make an offer to buy) this guitar

it looks like a 6120 bu the guitar books show many different variations , with various years of reissue models 6120 6120TM 6120 55 reissue 6120 59 reissue

I would be most grateful if any one can identify this and also an alternate guitar available which is the Country Classic II.- (posted in the help with guitars page) again with lots of variations- which model variation and which year would it be ? or do I need a serial number for each one to identify ? I hope the experts on this forum will weigh in

many thanks

Pic of the Country Classic II - which year might it be ?

Oops, here is the Country Classic II

Any pictures of the label inside , would greatly help.

The 6120 looks like a 6120 1960 reissue. If you look inside the F hole the label will have the model number and serial number which can be used to determine the factory and date of manufacture.

I know a lot of sellers try to hide the label, as in the pictures above but the label , the way it's printed and color/design will determine year and make. If the seller could take a pic and share but black out the last few digits of the s/n , it would make a great difference.

If the bridge on the CC hasn’t been replaced, the square-body roller-saddle version makes it pre-FMIC era, which was morless 1990 - 2002/3. But I don’t know details of the model’s production or evolution through those years.

If it IS pre-FMIC, there are numerous other build-and-spec differences from FMIC-era which make it “less desirable” / valuable, all other things being equal.

To belabor the point, serial numbers tell all. If a seller won’t provide that when asked, I’m not a buyer.