Modern Gretsch Guitars

Advice on modding a G5420T

Hi all, I am new here. I am about to purchase a G5420T I think.

I am a guitar tech and am working on guitars all the time but never had one of these in my hands yet.

I have a few things I am wondering about the G5420 that perhaps you could help me with:

1) I have read a few G5420T owners install TV Jones pickups in their guitars and I was wondering how do the Blacktops compare? Have any of you compared either pickup to the Reverend Revtrons?

2) I have seen a Bigsby Chet Atkins type wire handle replacement part available but can they be fitted to the B60 without much hassle? Widening of holes etc if required is no problem I can do that kind of work in the workshop. https://www.amplifiedparts....

3) What are the pots and switches like in these, do they have a nice taper or are they more like on/off switches? I had a Hagstrom Tremar Viking Deluxe not long ago and the pots were more like on/off switches, very poor. I use the volume knobs to go from rhythm to lead a lot on single channel amps etc is why I ask this.

4) I intend putting a roller bridge on the G5420 but imagine I will have to machine the base of the metal roller bridge and it's adjustment screws down in order to get the action low enough. Roller bridges tend to be 'taller' than tune-o-matics and there may not be enough adjustment on the posts to lower it down sufficiently. Have any of you put a roller bridge on your anchored wood bridge base, if so how did it work out for you? I will put a Reverend 'soft spring' in the B60 too as all my Reverends with Bigsbys have them and they are really smooth and nice.

Anyway, I would appreciate your thoughts on these points as you have more experience with Gretsch guitars than me. I have a lot of guitars for the studio and playing live but never had a Gretsch or had one in for repair or mods.

Thanks.