Meet & Greet

Old man-/ gretsch newb hello

Old man guitar player since 78.... just discovered gretsch....

very excited to ‘attempt’ to emulate Townsend w new to me beat 67 6122.

going to do my own rebinding and refresh. Neck is solid per seller... so hopefully not an issue yet.

hello Jeff from Texas

will be playing this through a 58 bassman... and a pile of fun pedals

Also will be on the hunt for basket case gretsch 6120 for a winter project... I have a hotrod build in mind.

Hello Jeff, I'm Wade, an old man from Arizona! I started playing in 1969. Welcome to the Gretsch Discussion Pages (The GDP), and congratulations on your new (to you) 6122. You're starting out on the top right from the git go, and with a vintage example to boot. A lot of those old Gretsch guitars suffer from Binding Rot, but as long as it has good bones, you can ice the cake.

Wade - thanks for the welcome.... I can't get the filter-tronic tone (from utube) out of my head..... my "new to me 6122" arrives saturday...... hopefully it's in fair enough shape for a home-session with windmills and all!

tubs - thx sir!

tsar - thx sir!

discovering at 52yo... there is more than lp, and tele, and strat!

Jeff, I got my first Gretsch guitar three years ago, a G5422TG, and I got my second one for my 60th birthday at the beginning October, a G6131T Firebird Duo Jet. I'm late to the party too, I played Fenders and Gibsons my whole life, and then I discovered Gretsch!