Meet & Greet

Hello

Hello to all. I've been lurking around the site for a bit, and took the plunge to register. I've already learned a lot and would like to say thanks for the knowledge and expertise that I've encountered thus far.

I've been playing guitar for roughly 20 years (with a couple small breaks during college and while in the Navy). I've run the gear gamut during that time, but have yet to own a Gretsch. That may be remedied in the coming weeks. I've played a few over the years, and liked almost all that I've had the chance to kick the tires on. A stand-out was an old Navy buddy's Nashville, and though I tried trading w/ him a couple times, he'd never let it go. Smart guy, I suppose.

Being a "G&L guy" for the past 10-ish years (variant ASAT models primarily), I've been looking for a semi- or hollowbody for the past couple of months. I came across a used 6136 the other week, while out demoing some Duesenbergs (they didn't speak to me) and I loved it. The size, the neck, the sound, etc. Unfortunately it was in less-than-nice shape, for the asking price, and there didn't seem to be any wiggle room.

So...I'm doing what a lot of us do; selling existing gear, that's currently collecting dust, in order to find and fund one. I'll keep you posted on the search, and in the meantime I'll continue to read and learn more and more about these great guitars.

Welcome to the board. Some of us really like G&L guitars in addition to our Gretsches.

Welcome to the club. I, too, have been a G&L guy. My SC-3 was my only electric guitar from 1984 until I got bit by an archtops bug. It landed me on a Gretsch and now I have many.

Welcome to the GDP! Please be warned, with Gretsches, you can't stop at one!